34 weeks & 31 months

June 10, 2011 at 12:22 pm 1 comment

I’ve clearly not been doing as well updating the blog as I hoped. My mother-in-law has been frequently reminding me that baby girl has been bigger than a banana for a while now – 14 weeks to be exact. This week (week 34) she is actually closer to the weight of a cantaloupe. (You may recall I don’t really like cantaloupe, so I was looking forward to next week until I saw she’ll be a honeydew, which I don’t like either.) According to pregnancy books/websites, the baby is about 4 3/4 lbs and 18″ long, however my doctors tell me she’s measuring small. I have a growth ultrasound next week to make sure she’s still growing on track, but the doctors don’t seem to be very worried. Although her brother was 7 lbs, 8.5 oz born at 38 weeks, I was only 5 lbs 5 oz, so maybe she just takes after her momma.

Baby girl has been moving around quite a lot lately and her jabs and pokes are starting to get strong enough that they can be uncomfortable. Thankfully the movements aren’t what keep me awake at night, but there are times of the day at work that its hard to even concentrate while she’d doing her gymnastics. Whenever a limb starts poking out I like to put my hand on her and give her a soft little nudge back. She usually follows up with another little jab or two right back. It’s a small thing, but I love that I get to play with her a bit before she meets the rest of the world.

I can also report that I’m officially nesting, with quite a lot of help. My hubby is amazing and has been painting like a pro. It’s impressive how skilled he is at doing edging work around the ceiling and baseboards despite years of insisting otherwise. I guess keeping his pregnant wife down off a ladder is motivation enough. Memorial weekend he finished the playroom (former guest bedroom) and last weekend he painted the nursery (former playroom). With both rooms finally painted we were able to move all furniture and toys into their new locations, including a new big-boy bed for Henry!

So speaking of Henry, my little man is 31 months old now, actually a bit closer to 32. We finally moved him out of a crib and into a new big boy bed, and so far it has been a success! He is very excited about the bed and loves climbing in and out with his animals and books. At night, he is eager to get into bed, but not for us to leave the room, so there are tears. However, he hasn’t yet climbed out of bed or come out of his room. In the morning even if he is awake, he stays in bed until we come open the door. I’m sure it’s just a matter of time before he discovers the freedom he has now and ends up in our room or the playroom, but we’re enjoying the peace while we still can!

Henry has also become quite the talker, although a little hard to understand if you aren’t around him a lot. But he has started to sing with much more frequency. He used to only “ya ya ya ya” along to one of his favorite songs, but now you can tell he’s actually singing the words. His current repertoire includes “Baa, Baa, Black Sheep,” “The Alphabet song,” “Old MacDonald,” “Pat-a-Cake,” and “Row, Row, Row Your Boat”. Oh and “Happy Birthday” has been a favorite for a while now. When he’s not attending a birthday party for one of his playgroup friends, he sings it to himself, “Happy Birthday to He-he”  – “He-he” is how he says his own name.

Other than singing, and adjusting to his new big-boy bed, the other major change is that he has suddenly become Daddy’s boy. He wants to be just like Tim and wants to be with him 24/7. In the morning if I go in to wake him up, he often greets me with a “No, Daddy!”  So heartwarming for a mommy to hear.  On the rare occasion that Tim isn’t around to put him to bed, after we get past the tantrum following his departure, I actually get a little affection and snuggling time with my little man, although its pretty clear my lap isn’t quite as comfortable for him as it used to be. However, in a rare moment last night, he asked me to lay down in his bed with him for a while and when I did, he got up in my face and layed a big wet kiss on the lips, followed by one on my nose and another on my cheek. Of course that sweet moment was replaced by the tantrum he threw when I had to leave the room, but I’ll take every little moment like that I can get.

Hopefully I’ll sneak in a few more updates before our little girl makes her debut, but for now, that’s what has been going on in the Gauhaus.

Entry filed under: around the haus, gaubaby. Tags: .

Baby Banana

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Grandma  |  June 11, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    Thank for the update. AND, I happen to love cantaloupe and honeydew.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Flickr Photos

Swim Lessons

FInger Painting

Henry1stBirthday06

Henry1stBirthday32

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

